Not every birth is easy part 2

Let’s see if I can finish this story in this post without it being super long.

We kept waiting for the results of the amniocentesis but for some reason it took them until the 28th before they had them. At that point they told us that our son’s lungs were not developed enough, so get settled in for a long stay. I spent the next few days stuck in the hospital having ultrasounds every other day, and kinda on bedrest. I was only allowed to walk the halls twice a week and I could go outside once a week, the rest of the time they wanted me to stay in bed and I could eat as much as I wanted. Although sometimes it felt like they were trying to shove food down my throat.
March 30th. I think my gastral reflux is starting to act up, but I take some rolaids and it goes away. I develope a rash on my arm where the medical bands are and no one knows why because they are hypoallergenic.
March 31st. My husband had to go home to get back to work.
April 1st. My mom and aunt and uncle had come up to see me. Nothing out of the ordinary happened that day, until about 5 pm when my family had to leave I started feeling like I was having heartburn. I wasn’t worried about it because I had experienced heartburn my whole pregnancy, I took some Rolaids and expected it to go away soon. 2 hours later it hadn’t went away so I called the nurse told her what was going on and she brought me something else for it. Another hour She comes to check on me and it hadn’t helped so she brings me something else. By 10 pm they were getting worried because nothing was helping they brought me something called a green lizard to help numb and calm the burn, they also took some blood. Finally the pain went away and I was able to get some sleep.
April 2nd. 7 am I am awoken by a knock at my door and in flies this doctor. I am still rubbing the sleep out of my eyes when she says ” your having a baby today!”. I’m thinking lady you’ve got the wrong room I’m stuck here for at least another week. Then she drops the bomb… ” you’re dying and only have 6 hours to deliver”. Instantly I’m awake and thinking what is going on, I’m starting to panic when she says ” I’ll be back soon with your other doctors and we will explain more.” I pick up my phone and call my husband I tell him that we were going to have a baby today. His reply ” ha ha babe April fools was yesterday.” I finally get him to realize I wasn’t joking and he instantly snapped into worried daddy/hubby, as we are talking the doctors come in so I tell him I’ll call him back. The head doctor begins to explain I have a condition called HELLP syndrome and it’s causing my kidneys and liver to shut down. Here is a site that explains what HELLP is. http://www.preeclampsia.org/health-information/hellp-syndrome
The doctors tell me they want to induce me immediately, so they send in a nurse to check and see if I was dialated any so they could choose which was the best way to proceed. Shortly after another nurse comes in to transfer me to a delivery room and begins to freek over the fact that I didn’t have an IV, I had to explain 3 times that I had been there for a week and hadn’t needed one yet. She gets me in a wheelchair and away we go, she is literally running down the hall with me. It was at this point that I started to shake a little from being scared. They get me in a delivery bed put in an IV and start me on magnesium. Then the nurse from before comes in to place a catheter and again freeks out because she had never placed one in someone who hadn’t already had an epidural (You see I couldn’t have one due to my condition). Finally my family gets there everyone except my husband. A doctor comes in and starts asking me if I wanted to have a c-section and explains what’s going on to my mother, while I’m staring at him like he’s speaking Klingon. My uncle speaks up and asks if I can wait for my husband to get there, to which the doctor replies how long till he gets here. My cousin had already called my husband and see where he was and tells the doc. that he was just pulling into the parking garage. ” ok we can wait that long” days the doc. Once my hubby made it to my room my mom tells him what’s going on and I tell him I’ll do what ever he thinks because I couldn’t make that choice at that moment. I was so scared and the magnesium was making me feel sick. My husband told me to do it so I signed the papers and they started prepping the operating room, unfortunately they had to have blood and platlets on hand before they could start and they didn’t have my type. Then it became a waiting game while they found some and had it mediflited in.

Let’s stop there for a bit. This is getting long.

( to be continued)

Leave a Reply

